And so the fundraising begins…

I have a daunting task ahead of me… to raise a minimum of $2000 before I head to Brazil in a month’s time. The money will be used to pay for the materials I’ll be developing for Espaço da Criança.

I kicked off my fundraising by baking brownies for the office a couple of weeks ago and it went so well I’m now the sole supplier of brownies to JWT NY…

My first day “oficially” baking for the office and I made an impressive $79. I want to say a big thank you to my hungry colleagues who’ve been incredible generous and a special shout out to our CCO, Jeff – who paid $20 for a brownie-bite.

I’d love to take credit for the recipe but it comes from my travels in Ecuador, and staying true to recipe I used their 100% cacao.

The recipe can be found below or at: http://mindochocolate.com/recipes.html

Cacao beans that made the brownies; from Mindo, Ecuador.

Cacao beans that made the brownies; from Mindo, Ecuador.

El Quetzal Brownies
Chocolate Truffle Brownies Recipe American Dessert

Original Recipe Yield 1 – 9×13 inch or 2 – 9 inch round pans

Ingredients

1 cup unsalted butter
6 ounces unsweetened chocolate, cut into small pieces
2 cups sugar
4 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
Powdered sugar for dusting

Directions

Preheat the oven to 325°F.
Grease a 9-by-13-inch baking pan.
Combine the butter and chocolate in the top pan of a double boiler set over (but not touching) simmering water over medium-low heat and melt slowly, stirring occasionally.

(Alternatively, combine the chocolate and butter in a 6-cup microwave-safe glass measuring cup and heat on high power for 1 1/2 minutes, or until melted, stirring once.)

When the butter and chocolate are melted, remove from the heat, add the sugar, and whisk vigorously.

Add the eggs and vanilla and whisk until completely incorporated.
Add the flour and salt and blend in, making sure there are no lumps of flour.
The mixture should now be a shiny batter.
Pour the batter into the prepared pan and gently smooth the top.

Bake in the center of the oven for 40 minutes, or until the top is crisp and dry and a skewer inserted 1 inch from the center comes out barely moist.

Let cool to room temperature before cutting into squares or bars.
Sprinkle with powdered sugar.

Leave a comment